Throne of Glass review

IMG_3201.jpg

 

Throne of Glass

Sarah J. Maas

 

Synopsis:

 

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilirating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her… but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead… quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.

 

My Review:

 

I had put this book off for so long because I didn’t think it would be my sort of thing, I over looked it at the store and tuned out whenever someone talked about it. Boy do I regret that, this book has turned out to be one of my all time favourites.

 

I thoroughly enjoyed the story and found it very unique, there was mystery, humour, romance (but not too much romance) and so much more. This book is so beautifully written that I could not put the book down, the story grabbed me from the very beginning. It had a lot of suspense and mystery but it did not drag on or have slow parts like many suspense stories do. This book just got better and better as the story went on.

 

I absolutely loved the main protagonist and was definitely able to connect with her. Celaena Sardothian is such a strong female character and to my delight not at all a damsel in distress. I found her very funny but also very serious and mature at the appropriate times, she seems to have so many layers to her and draws you in.

 

The world Sarah J. Maas has created for this series blew me away, there are so many different amazing elements and features to it. This world is described in such a way that I was awestruck and desperate to know more.

 

I cannot wait to see where this story goes, there is so much potential and I’m sure I will be amazed. I cannot recommend Throne of Glass highly enough.

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Catherine ♥

Leave a Reply

