We Were Liars review

IMG_3676.JPG

 

We Were Liars

E. Lockhart

Synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
 
We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart. 

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

My Review:

 

There was a truck load of hype about We Were Liars, so I was so excited to read it. Unfortunately I was extremely disappointed and was glad when it was over.  I hope this review doesn’t sound like too much of a rant but I can’t even pick the one thing that i disliked most about it.

 

The writing style of this book to me was very tedious and at times downright annoying. I found the story very predictable and stereotypical, I guessed the ending not to far into the book. Additionally the book seemed to drag on and on, then right at the end a tonne of information was revealed at once. The title confused me a bit because it was never addressed as to why they were called liars.

 

I found all of the characters to be every stereotypical and could not connect with them at all. I especially could not connect with the main character, who I found to be very one dimensional. The romance the protagonist was involved with was such a cliche and anyone could see coming a mile away.

 

This is the first book I have read that I have truly hated (which is not a word I use lightly), I was surprised that I didn’t enjoy this book at all seeing as there had been many great reviews.

 

Rating: 1/5 stars

 

Catherine ♥

Leave a Reply

