Red Queen review

IMG_3825.JPG

 

Red Queen (Red Queen #1)

Victoria Aveyard

 

Synopsis:

 

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart …

 

My Review:

 

There was so much hype for this book that I was a little concerned, previously a very hyped book ended up being a HUGE disappointment for me. But my word, this book lived up to all the hype and much more. I absolutely loved this book, I have to say I think it is my new favourite. I don’t have enough words to describe how amazing I thought this book was.

 

I was totally captivated by the concept of this book and all of its elements from the very beginning. Some of the ideas/themes have been done before, but in this story Victoria Aveyard has taken them and totally transformed them into something new and exciting. I felt there was such a great flow to this story, no parts were draggy or too rush, whilst still keeping you in suspense the entire time. I was completely unprepared for the plot twist, it totally blindsided me. Additionally, I liked that there was some romance but not too much, the focus mostly remained on the protagonist and her journey to achieve her goals. 

 

All of the characters were incredibly intriguing to me. The majority of the way through the book I constantly felt like there was more to each character, like there was something they were holding behind their backs. This made me so eager to keep reading and find out more about them, it also encouraged me to be cautious of all the characters and question everyone. I adored the main protagonist, Mare Barrow, she was such a strong character. There are so many ways to describe her; smart, funny, witty, brave, loyal, the list goes on. I was utterly sucked in by the character that turned out to be the villain, even though they turned out bad I can’t help but think that there is a lot more to them, hopefully we will learn this in the next book.

 

I found the different abilities of some of the characters to be incredibly interesting, they were very imaginative and I really enjoyed how we learnt about them and the different ways some use them for good and others for bad. I look forward to discovering more of the abilities in the future.

 

I thought this book was extraordinary and I definitely recommend it to everyone.

 

Rating: 5/5 stars

 

Catherine ♥ 

2 thoughts on “Red Queen review

Leave a Reply

