The Siren review

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

The Siren

Kiera Cass

Synopsis:

 

“You must never do anything that might expose our secret. This means that, in general, you cannot form close bonds with humans. You can speak to us, and you can always commune with the Ocean, but you are deadly to humans. You are, essentially, a weapon. A very beautiful weapon. I won’t lie to you, it can be a lonely existence, but once you are done, you get to live. All you have to give, for now, is obedience and time…”

The same speech has been given hundreds of times to hundreds of beautiful girls who enter the sisterhood of sirens. Kahlen has lived by these rules for years now, patiently waiting for the life she can call her own. But when Akinli, a human, enters her world, she can’t bring herself to live by the rules anymore. Suddenly the life she’s been waiting for doesn’t seem nearly as important as the one she’s living now.”

 

My Review:

 

I really enjoyed this book, much more than I expected to. This was a fast read for me, it really pulled me in. I thought I would read a little before bed and before I knew it, it was 3am and I was about to finish it.

 

The Siren was such an emotional and at times heartbreaking story that explored both romance and friendship, it was so different from what I expected. I adored the main character Kahlen, she was very relatable and I totally connected to her and felt her pain and joy throughout the story.

 

I loved the way the additional characters were developed and explored, they were all incredibly interesting and I found the way the ocean was portrayed to be very unique and intriguing. I enjoyed discovering the different types of relationships that each character had with Kahlen. I feel that we were shown quite a contract between healthy and unhealthy friendships in this book.

 

Reading about the relationship between the ocean and Kahlen was very interesting to me, I have never read a book where the ocean was portrayed like that. I feel that this relationship showed us a bit of what an unhealthy friendship can be like. The ocean was very possessive and controlling over Kahlen, and seemed to be very dependent on her. I don’t mean in the way that she is dependent on sirens, I mean more emotionally dependent. I enjoyed seeing this relationship grow as the book progressed and be more understanding and equal. The friendships formed between all the sirens were completely different and I feel they showed the opposite type of relationship, a much more healthy and functional friendship.

 

I absolutely loved Kahlen’s romantic interest in this story, Akinli. He was so sweet and patient. I was able to feel totally connected to their relationship. Reading this book I felt their relationship developed at a great pace and in a very relatable way. I hate when a book has instalove, this thankfully did not.

 

The only thing that I did not really like about this book is that it ended very quickly. It wrapped up so fast that I was left feeling a bit of whiplash if that makes sense, I was sitting there for a few minutes trying to catch up and come to terms with it all. The epilogue helped a bit, but it still could have ended a little better.

 

Despite the ending, I really enjoyed this book and I will definitely read it again at some point. It was very romantic and sweet, so I think it will be the perfect book to read if I get into a reading slump.

 

Rating: 4.5 / 5 Stars

 

Here is a quote from the book that I really liked and feel that most readers can relate to:

“I instantly dragged my fingers across a shelf of book spines, in love with each one already. Books were a safe place, a world apart from my own. No matter what had happened that day, that year, there was always a story in which someone overcame their darkest hour. I wasn’t alone.”

 

Catherine ♥

Leave a Reply

