The Midnight Society Review

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

 

The Midnight Society (The Midnight Chronicles #1)

Rhonda Sermon

 

Synopsis:

 

“Witness protection has a protocol for dealing with every situation—except magic. 

Fifteen-year-old Cate’s life has been monitored since her new identity was created five years ago. She’s spent countless hours learning how to deal with potential threats and dangerous situations. None of which is any use when everyone around her is suddenly frozen like statues at the bus stop. 

As Cate attempts to make sense of the frightening scene, a mysterious group of teenagers appear out of thin air. They are intrigued she’s not affected, but focus on completing their deadly mission, using baffling powers before they vanish again. 

When the group seeks her out the next day, Cate is drawn into a world filled with sorcery and time travel. After she accidentally brings a cheerleader back from the dead, her incredible powers are revealed. Cate is shocked to discover she has a pivotal role to play in a centuries-old battle between two mortal enemies which threatens to destroy her entire world.

With the distinction between good and evil blurred, she’s faced with the excruciating choice of which side to join. Cate can save her family or protect thousands of people from death. She can’t do both. Will she risk destroying innocent lives to save the ones she loves?

The Midnight Society is the first book in The Midnight Chronicles series of young adult urban fantasy novels. If you like original butt-kicking heroines, fast-paced urban fantasy action, and unpredictable time travel twists, then you’ll love Rhonda Sermon’s refreshing, entertaining series starter.”

 

My Review:

 

I was so excited when I found out about this book, the synopsis sounded so interesting and even better it was by an Australian author. I love finding and being able to support Australian authors.

 

As I said I was excited for this book, I expected it to be good, but holy crap! The Midnight Society turned out to be AMAZING. I absolutely loved it! The story captivated me from the very beginning and I ended up flying through it. I can’t even describe what I loved most, it was just so excellently written.

 

The whole story was so gripping, intriguing and exciting that I was desperate to read more. There where no slows parts at all, which I absolutely adored after reading a few books that had so many parts that dragged, often leaving me feeling like I had to force myself to keep reading and wasn’t enjoying it. This story had a tonne of plot twists, in a good way. I was keep guessing the whole time, I couldn’t wait to finish the book but also didn’t want it to end. I enjoyed reading this very much.

 

I love the world that Rhonda Sermon create, how she explored time travel and the different elements she added. I haven’t read anything that explored time travel in that manner, it was so interesting and enchanting. Everything and everyone in this story was explained and explored so well, I was able to connect completely with the story and become entranced with it.

 

I loved reading about the main character Cate, she was so badass, determined, humourous, and about a million other things. I totally connected to her. I also loved the other characters, they were all so interesting and had such great and fascinating back stories. I was also incredibly glad that the romantic interest in this story was not insta-love, it seemed to develop naturally and was very fun to read. Additionally, I was thrilled that Cate was still independent and mature despite the romance, I hate it so much when the female main character turns in to a dependent, needy child when a romantic interest shows up.

 

Is it December yet??? I’m not sure I can wait till then for the next book. I will absolutely be rereading this one before the end of the year. The Midnight Society has definitely become one of my favourites.

 

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 

Catherine ♥

One thought on “The Midnight Society Review

  1. Added this one to my TBR now! The synopsis and the characters sound fantastic there’s nothing I love more then a kick ass main character 🙂 Excited to read this now, great review 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

