The Glittering Court Review

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

 

The Glittering Court 

Richelle Mead

 

Synopsis:

“Big and sweeping, spanning from the refined palaces of Osfrid to the gold dust and untamed forests of Adoria, The Glittering Court tells the story of Adelaide, an Osfridian countess who poses as her servant to escape an arranged marriage and start a new life in Adoria, the New World. But to do that, she must join the Glittering Court.

Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. Adelaide naturally excels in her training, and even makes a few friends: the fiery former laundress Tamsin and the beautiful Sirminican refugee Mira. She manages to keep her true identity hidden from all but one: the intriguing Cedric Thorn, son of the wealthy proprietor of the Glittering Court.

When Adelaide discovers that Cedric is hiding a dangerous secret of his own, together they hatch a scheme to make the best of Adelaide’s deception. Complications soon arise—first as they cross the treacherous seas from Osfrid to Adoria, and then when Adelaide catches the attention of a powerful governor.

But no complication will prove quite as daunting as the potent attraction simmering between Adelaide and Cedric. An attraction that, if acted on, would scandalize the Glittering Court and make them both outcasts in wild, vastly uncharted lands…”

 

My Review:

 

Richelle has always been an auto-buy author for me. Vampire Academy is what got me into reading so obsessively, it is my absolute favourite series. So when The Glittering Court trilogy  was announced I was so excited. When I read the synopsis I became a little sceptical and wasn’t sure that I would enjoy it, but I figured its by Richelle so it has to be amazing. It kills me to say this as I LOVE Richelle Mead, but I did not enjoy this book, nor did I think it was very good or up to Richelle’s usual standard.

 

I’m not sure how to even begin to describe my experience with this book. I think most aspects of this book were a bit disappointing to me. There were some good (not great) chapters, which were then always followed by many not so good/slow chapters. Therefore, it took me a while to finish this book as I had to force myself to keep reading at times, if this booked wasn’t by Richelle, I’m not sure I would have finished it. I also don’t really get why it was deemed a fantasy book, unless I’m forgetting something, I’m pretty sure there wasn’t really a fantasy element at all, maybe a bit of an alternative religious element but thats it. 

 

 

I wasn’t really able to connect to the main character at all, she seemed a bit all over the place. I don’t really know how to elaborate on that, sort of like she had certain personality traits then next minute she seemed to have contradicting personality traits. We didn’t seem to discover and learn about her in the normal way, to me it felt like she was portrayed one way but her actions were completely different from that. Also some of her decisions didn’t seem to make sense, even once they were elaborated on I still didn’t see the reasoning for them.

 

The romance in this book also seemed to go from 10 to 100 very quickly, it just didn’t develop in a way that I felt drawn or connected to, it just felt weird. The other two books in this trilogy are going to cover the same time period but from the perspectives of two other characters. While the other two characters did sound somewhat interesting, I think too much time was spent trying to make us curious about them. That time should have been spent making this book better instead of trying to entice us to read the later books.

 

The last few chapters were a little redeeming for me (only slightly). They were a bit more fast paced, suspenseful and exciting, they seemed to live up to the usual quality of Richelle Mead’s writing. If the rest of the book had of been more like this, then the book would have been great. These last few chapters are what made me upgrade the book half a start to the rating I gave it.

 

The world building for this book could have been so much better. Some points in the story line didn’t need to be stretched out for as long as they were, and conversely, some points needed more elaboration. This story also reminded me a lot of The Selection by Kiera Cass and The Jewel by Amy Ewing.

 

The only way I can really summarise my opinion of this book is that it was very average. It took me so long to write this review, I wasn’t sure how to describe it and I hated giving a less than excellent review to one of my favourite authors. I will probably read the later books in this series only because they are by Richelle. 

 

Rating: 2.5/5 Stars

 

Catherine ♥

 

One thought on “The Glittering Court Review

Leave a Reply

