Strings Review

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

Strings

David Estes

Synopsis:

“Sometimes the strings that tie us down are the same strings that set us free.

Sixteen-year-old Pia has always lived in a mysterious facility where mechanical strings control her existence. She plays apprentice to her father, Gio, in performing nanotech designs for the Company, and she soon suspects there are diabolical human forces behind the manufactured reality of her world. 

Though her childhood memories and the origins of the strings remain strangely elusive, she begins to find solace with the introduction of two unlikely friends: daring, irrational Sofia, and calm, tender Marco. 

As the truths of the past and present unravel together, Pia must find a way to free herself from her strings and escape the facility before facing the wrath of the unstable head of security, Mr. Davis. But to gain her freedom, she must navigate the dangers posed by Davis and by her suspicious new friends to find the real identity of the puppeteer. 

If Pia can succeed in revealing the secrets of the Company, she may very well find the independence she so desperately seeks. But in her controlled world nothing is as it seems, and the closer she gets to the truth, the graver the consequences.”

My Review:

I received this in the September box from The Dragon’s Hoard subscription box. When I found it I had never heard of it before, but I was intrigued as I usually like retellings and I had never read a retelling of Pinocchio let alone a gender swapped one.

This retelling definitely did not let me down, it was captivating right from the beginning. Once I started reading this it was so hard to put down, I found the whole book so interesting. There was great plot twists and so much mystery that I was constantly left guessing what was going to happen next. David Estes did an amazing job in making this such an enjoyable Sci-fi/Dystopia book, I have been getting a little sick of dystopia books but this one was different and very well done.

I loved the way each of the characters was developed. We gradually learnt more and more about each character and we got to learn a bit of the character’s backstories which allowed me better understand the reasons they are the way they are. I also loved how there was so much mystery around the majority of the characters, it made me so eager to continue reading and constantly left me wondering who can be trusted. I especially loved the main character, Pia, she was a fantastic mix of kind, smart, loyal, brave, determined and so much more. I really enjoyed getting to see how Pia progressed through the story and how she grew more confident in herself.

I liked that this book included characters that had medical issues, physical disabilities, and mental issues. I don’t get to read many books that have characters like this and I found it very interesting. I also found that this book, despite being sci-fi/dystopian, ventured into areas/issues that can genuinely relate to our own lives. During some parts of the book I definitely felt that a stronger message was being communicated which wasn’t just meant to aid the storyline, if that makes sense, i don’t want to ruin the story for anyone.

There is one message that I got from reading the book that I will share because I think it is really important given what the world is going through at the moment. The story portrayed the importance of letting go of anger and past hurt, and it showed us what holding onto these things can do to us. I won’t go further into this but I just thought it was such an important message.

I thought this was such a great story and I highly recommend it, even to those who don’t usually go for books from the sci-fi or dystopian genres.

Rating:4.5

Catherine ♥

3 thoughts on “Strings Review

  1. I loved how diverse this book was and how well done the retelling was, All The throw backs to the original like the poem and thoughts about what it is to be real mixed with the messages of control for profit and the themes of losing people and fighting for loved ones is fantastic 😊 Great review! 💕

    Like

  2. Hey, lovely reviews 🙂 and a great blog. I have nominated you to do the mystery blog award. If you would like to do it please read my blog to see what 5 questions I have given you. I have nominated the first ten people who followed my blog. Thank you very much for being awesome 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

